River Niger

I wish I would not think of you

and today never blossomed

With its mixed flowers

of green and white

Like greens that bath your banks

between the softest parts

That cast those matrimonial short spells

from below

The wet fragrance that bait hearts

of all those who lavish their eyes on you

I wish you’re here

to flood my vein,

The roots buried deeply within me

Not even the rhythmic flashes of the

clock can wish away those times

Neither the times of hunger and tears

Season and off-season

That have laid my head bare

With vacant fulfillments

Leave a Reply

